19 May 2011

Today we wrote.  Most of you barely got a thesis written… yikes.  These are meant to be in-class essays, but may spill over a little bit, huh?

That said, you have time in the lab on Tuesday.  If you can get the papers to me tomorrow or over the weekend, I might be able to give you some feedback by then.  You’ll also have time to work on Friday next week.  You can get as much or as little feedback as you like, but you must show a draft to me at least ONCE and have that draft revised by May 31.  Okay?

Today I passed out a sheet from a conference I had with Juju about how to write the essay as well as a sample essay another 10th grader wrote–it was for a different movie, but essentially the same assignment.  I included commentary on that paper for what I thought went well and did not go well.

Lastly, I offered a list of tools that directors use (not comprehensive at all):

  • Color
  • Lighting
  • Speed (fast/slow)
  • Voice-overs
  • Flashbacks/flash forwards
  • Silence
  • Camera angle
  • Transition

I’m sure there are more, but these are tools I read about a lot in reviews.

Leave a Reply

