10H – 9 Oct 2013 – Reading Day & a note about LEFT SIDE journaling

Scholars, today is a reading day for Chapters 8 & 9.

I’ll take just a moment to introduce LEFT SIDE Journaling because anyone who has a conference 10/14 or later will need to show me some evidence of left-side work.

On the left side of your journal, you’re essentially reflecting on and critiquing your own thinking from the right side. It’s your chance to write

I can’t believe I missed _______! There was ______ and ______ and ________ and I just missed all those details.  I don’t know what I was thinking.

or

Man, if I’d read Foster’s chapter on weather, I would have seen this video a lot differently.  I would have noticed ______ and _______. That probably foreshadowed ___________.

or other things like that.  In fact, there is a list of possible prompts for left side journaling on your Intro to Critical Reading Journal (page 1) and some samples on A Visual Model for a Critical Reading Journal. You don’t have to use these, but if they’re helpful, go right ahead!

Leave a Reply

