10H – 10 Oct 2013 – Journal Entries List

We’ll do our socratic seminar over Chapters 8 & 9 today.

Journal Checks are starting, so I’m providing you with a complete list of the journal entries assigned so far in the year. It’s a Google Doc so I will update it live throughout the year.

AND EEEEK!  While I was doing my first journal conference today, I realized that I gave you the WRONG rubric–it’s an older version that’s much more difficult to use.  I’m giving you copies of the correct Journal Check Rubric (1st Tri) today.

9 thoughts on “10H – 10 Oct 2013 – Journal Entries List

  1. Since I was gone today for CC I just wanted to share my ideas.

    1. On pages 116-117 Leper is talking about how skiing has to evolve, otherwise it will die. Earlier in the chapter, Gene notes that while others had matured, Finny had not. I thought this may mean that Finny has to die since he hasn’t changed.

    2. To remain on the lovely note of death, I would also like to share about page 120. On this page Gene talks about how after winter recedes, all it leaves is death. I thought this foreshadowed that after Winter left, all it would leave was the heaviness of the death of Finny.

    Thanks!

    Myles Young

    • Myles–I love this idea about Finny. Especially in the “boyhood” vs. war metaphor it works well. Boyhood has to die in the face of war.

  2. On page 100, when Gene realized that Finny “needs” him he decides to stay behind and not enlist in the war. I thought this decision meant that Gene is refusing to grow up because he did not go to war. So by Gene staying behind he is going to find his identity on his own or with the help of Finny. 

    Also throughout the book, Finny kept stating that the war is not real. I think he says this because everyone at Devon can go to military service except him because he is crippled. He is trying to convince Gene that it is not real. This shows the self-absorption that Finny has. If the war does not exist in his world, then it must not exist others worlds as well. 

  3. I had two cents…
    So on page 100, when Gene realized that Finny “needs” him he decides to stay behind and not enlist in the war. I thought this decision meant that Gene is refusing to grow up because he did not go to war. So by Gene staying behind he is going to find his identity on his own or with the help of Finny. 

    Also throughout the book, Finny kept stating that the war is not real. I think he says this because everyone at Devon can go to military service except him because he is crippled. He is trying to convince Gene that it is not real. This shows the self-absorption that Finny has. If the war does not exist in his world, then it must not exist others worlds as well. 

  4. One thing I thought was interesting was that on page 97, Gene says “Until now, in spite of everything, I had welcomed each new day as though it were a new life, where all past failures and problems were erased.” This seems like a very Christian viewpoint, the forgiveness of sins, new life, etc. but the “now” Gene is talking about is Finny’s return. Since Finny has been a Christ figure for a few chapters now, it seems weird that his return would put an end to a very Christian mentality.

    I also noticed how closely Finny is linked to specifically Gene’s peace. The war had been encroaching on Gene’s life for the past two chapters, but Finny coming back returns it to the almost fantasy-like status it had during the summer. On page 101 Gene says “For the war was no longer eroding the peaceful summertime stillness I had prized so much at Devon, and although the playing fields were crusted under a foot of congealed snow and the river was now a hard gray-white line of ice between gaunt trees, peace had come back to Devon for me.” I think that winter has come to symbolize the war, or at least it does in this scene, and the fact that Gene mentions that the rest of Devon is still winter shows that Finny coming back really only affects him. Earlier in the book, when the boys were shoveling out the trains, the snow was described has sooted, heavy and wet. However, on page 111 when Gene is running around Phineas in the morning, the snow is described as “powdery white,” and “a blue-white glimmer.” Again, Finny is pushing the war away.

  5. I was absent Thursday, so here are a couple of my thoughts from chapters 8 & 9. First, I want to talk about when Finny is telling Gene, on pages 106-108, about how the war doesn’t really exist, it is just something that “they” made up. I drew a parallel to the war and Finny’s broken leg. At least how he feels about them. It seems to be like he refuses to admit the war is happening because it means they have to grow up, and face reality, almost like he refuses to admit that he will never fully recover from his injury. Another thing I noticed is that what Leper says on page 117 seems to be foreshadowing Finny’s future. He says “Everything has to evolve or else is perishes.” I think Finny has to to “evolve”, in other words, he hasn’t matured enough to realize the war is real, (I mean, he KNOWS but he doesn’t want to really act like it is happening), and he doesn’t want to admit he will never play sports again and he will never be 100% again. Also, Finny simply doesn’t want to grow up. I think Leper foreshadows that this will hurt him in the end. As all the other boys grow up and go off to fight in the war, Finny won’t, and Finny is the one who will end up “perishing”.

  6. I found it interesting on page 100, Finny was so relieved when Gene decides against enlisting. In one way, he’s saving Gene from the perils of war. But in another way, he’s being selfish by keeping Gene out of the war. On another note, on pages 100-101, Finny gives Brinker a nickname, which removes something that had set Brinker apart from the rest of the school. On page 99, Brinker had been aggressive towards both Gene and Finny, but his nicknaming temporarily silences him. When I first read these chapters, I predicted that there would be further conflict between Brinker, Gene and Finny.
    One last thing that I want to add: On page 101, Finny is described as having stopped the war from reaching Devon. “So the war swept over like a wave at the seashore, gathering power and size as it bore on us, overwhelming in its rush, seemingly inescapable, and then at the last moment eluded by a word from Phineas; I had simply ducked, that was all, and the wave’s concentrated power had hurtled harmlessly overhead, no doubt throwing others roughly up on the beach, but leaving me peaceably treading water as before. I did not stop to think that one wave is inevitably followed by another, when the tide is coming in.” That last sentence indicates that Finny won’t be able to hold the war at bay forever, and that eventually Gene will be swept into it. If the war is going to get into Devon, something will have to happen to stop Finny from being a barrier against it.

Leave a Reply

