10H – Task 2 Calendar and Deadline Management

Okay, everyone. By popular demand, here is a sample calendar for you specifically aligned to Task 2 (you can click on it to enlarge it if  necessary):

Sample Task 2 Calendar

As you all know, the rules of the game are simple. 95% of you have successfully managed Task 1 and have a good sense of how this works. But as a reminder:

  • You have a MAXIMUM of one week to turn around a paper, but as I’ve said a hundred times since we started, if you always use the maximum, you will not be able to finish in time. I recommend (and have planned above) ONLY using your full week when you’re working on hammering out a first draft. That tends to be the part that takes the longest.
  • I get two SCHOOL days to turn around proposals and most drafts. I get five SCHOOL days to turn around first drafts (they take me as long as they take you). Weekends don’t count as extra days. I do not work on Saturdays or Sunday mornings.
  • You have a writing day every Monday all period, so you have plenty of time and support to work with me. I’m also available for conferences before or after school every day.
  • If I ask you to conference, it means that my commenting on your draft for 20 minutes would not be enough time for me to explain what’s necessary, and as a result I haven’t given you a full picture in the comments. I expect you to conference. Don’t waste my time or yours by avoiding it.

At this point, 60-70% of you have already worked through a first proposal and are on a second proposal or have started drafting, so by waiting a full week to hand in the first proposal, this time schedule will feel a bit crunched. We’ll all do the best we can with it, right?

Remember if you get feedback sooner than expected, you can turn your draft around sooner than expected.

One thought on “10H – Task 2 Calendar and Deadline Management

Leave a Reply

