11/19 Humor in Memoir

Today we’re going to read two funny excerpts from memoirs: The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid (Bill Bryson) and Teacher Man (Frank McCourt). First, I hope, we’re going to enjoy them.

THEN, I hope, we’re going to analyze them–try to figure out what makes them so funny. Instead of writing directly into your lab book, I’m going to give you a page about humor techniques that we’ll work on. It should be stapled or taped into your lab book when you’re through.

You can find a folder of pics of the two excerpts here if you need to reference them for any reason. I’m sorry to be so late on this; it took me a long time to figure out how to get them to you without using up all my WordPress space! 🙂

Leave a Reply

