1/18 – Intro to F451 (aka The Library Is Under Attack)

Today I’m going to introduce you to Farenheit 451, one of my favorite books, and one that may have some particular resonance for us this week.

PREPARATION FOR FRIDAY (I know, weird to do this first, but I want to get it out of the way)

First, you need to know that in addition to your regular lab book writing, I’m also going to ask you to Live TWEET as you read.

That means: if you don’t have a Twitter account, you’ll need to set one up, at least for the duration of this unit (two weeks).

Wait–what do I tweet? You can see some sample quotes on the handout I just linked and some sample questions here.

WHAT WE NEED TO READ FIRST:

Okay, so this novel is a novel of IDEAS, as John Green tells us. So for the rest of today, I’m going to ask you to engage with the ideas behind the novel by reading these three essays:

The first two are in your Critical Essays packet, the third one you’ll have to read online. No lab book entry required on these, but you will have a QUIZ over these essays tomorrow before we discuss them.

Leave a Reply

